Explanation of Middle School Judaic Sections:
In attempts to make our Judaic classes relevant to our students’ individual interests and needs, Addlestone offers two separate sections of Judaics to our middle school. These two sections are not divided based on scholastic ability and certainly not on religious affiliation but rather, they are meant to enhance the Judaic experience of each student by catering to their areas of interest. As such, we are leaving it up to parents and their children to choose the section that speaks to their interests.

The primary difference between the two sections is that one will focus on text study/skill building while the other section will take a more experiential approach to Judaics. Students in both sections will have the opportunity to learn from the same teachers.

Class Breakdown:
Text Section: the goal of the text section is to focus on text skills with regards to reading and analyzing sources in the Written and Oral Law, in a way that is interesting and thought-provoking. This section will include:
– 4 periods a week of Talmud
– 3 periods of Chumash
– 1 period of Jewish History
– 1 period of Israeli History/Culture/Politics

Experiential Section: the goal of the experiential section is to take a discussion-based approach to learning Judaics, with less emphasis on reading and text skills, but in a manner that will be just as thought-provoking as the text track. This section will include:

– 2 periods of Mishna
– 2 periods of Jewish History
– 3 periods of Chumash
– 1 period of Israeli History/Culture/Politics
– 1 period called “Traits of Jewish Leaders”.

The main difference between the two sections is that the text section features four periods of Talmud, whereas the Experiential section includes two periods of Mishna. Mishna and Talmud are two of the main works of Oral Law. The Mishna is written in Hebrew and is short, concise and clear. The Talmud, by contrast, is in Hebrew and Aramaic and is written in a tangential style of back-and forth analytic discussion.